Browser Compatibility Notification
It appears you are trying to access this site using an outdated browser. As a result, parts of the site may not function properly for you. We recommend updating your browser to its most recent version at your earliest convenience.

Emergency? Call 9-1-1

Non-Emergency? Call 1 (866) 876-5423

2017 Awards and Recognitions

Decrease Text Size Default Text Size Increase Text Size |
Print Link

York Regional Police is proud to be named one of the Greater Toronto Top Employers for 2017. How were we selected for this prestigious honour? By presenting our members with a competitive compensation and benefits package, investing in their future and offering a great work-life balance.

This is your time to join a top employer - Find out how.

Sergeant Trevor Hanko and Constable Peter Dunn along with board members of Crime Stoppers of York Region were presented with with the prestigious Marla Moon Memorial Award of Excellence for having the program that best demonstrates its commitment to the Crime Stoppers mission through its basic responsibilities and its efforts at community outreach and partnership. 

York Regional Police Hold Up Unit members received a team commendation from Durham Regional Police for their work on the identification and arrest of suspects involved in jewlery store robberies in both regions. Detective Dave Noseworthy, Detective Alec Tompras, Detective Constable Sean Whittaker and Detective Constable Robert Wilson were recognized for the award. 

Assistant Manager Greg Stanisci accepted the Innovative Excellence Award from Latitude Geographics on behalf of York Regional Police in recognition for creating the new Active Operating Picture (AOP) Business Intelligence Tool. 

Additional awards

Ontario Law Enforcement Torch Run - Rising Flame Award
Constable Rachel Rudolf received the Ontario Law Enforcement Torch Run Rising Flame Award. 
Leading Women and Leading Girls Award 
Constable Robyn Kassam, Constable Rebecca Boyd and Constable Karian Guimond were recognized for the Leading Women and Leading Girls award. 
St. John Ambulance Life-saving Award
Awarded to Detective Gary Sangha and Constable Brad Burns. 
Governor General's Office - Medal of Bravery 
Constable Blake Pyatt was the recipient of a Medal of Bravery from the Governor General's Office for his quick actions at the scene of a motor vehicle collision where he risked his own life to remove the driver from his vehicle in a very dangerous situation. 
Tri-Services Awards
Call Taker of the Year - Kayli Hoekstra
Dispatcher of the Year - Lisa Sherwood
Outstanding Performance of a Platoon - C Platoon
Outstanding Achievement in the Communications Centre - Laureen Jackson
Guardians Beyond the Call Award
Recognized Inspector Angelo DeLorenzi and Safety Educator Roberto Tomei. 
Character Community Colleague Award - York Region Character Community Awards
Sergeant Anthony Torresan received the Character Colleague Award at the York Region Character Community Awards. 
Ontario Women In Law Enforcement (OWLE) Leadership Award
Superintendent Karen Noakes was presented with the Ontario Women in Law Enforcement Leadership award, recognizing her dedication, initiative, innovation, mentoring and leadership to sworn and civilian members. 
Community Safety and Crime Prevention Award
Superintendent Carolyn Bishop was presented with the Community Safety and Crime Prevention Award at the Ontario Association of Chiefs of Police Conference for her Run For it Mental Health Program which teaches young high school women how to run 5 kilometres and then participate in a local run with the proceeds going to Markham Stouffville Hospital Youth Children's mental health programs. 
Youth Service Volunteer Award
Sergeant Jim Carman was presented with the Youth Service Volunteer at the OACP Conference. 
Nigerian-Canadian Association 
Detective Constable Michelle Foster received Citizen of the Year Award from the Nigerian Canadian Association. 
Canadian Banks' Law Enforcement Award
Detective Alec Tompras was presented with the Canadian Banks' Law Enforcement Award (CBLEA) at the Canadian Chiefs of Police (CACP) Gala. 
Certificates of Commendation 
Constable Leonid Ivanov and Constable Anastasia Latour were presented with Certificates of Commendationg by Member of Parliament, Majid Jowhari in recognition for their professionalism and understanding in a domestic situation.
Giving Tree Award of Hope
Constable Andre West received the Giving Tree Award of Hope in recognitition for his dedication and commitment to promote kindness through education and guidance to members of the community. 
International Association of Women Police Leadership Award
Superintendent Karen Noakes, received the Leadership Award from the International Association of Women Police (IAWP) in recognition of her accomplishments leading, developing, guiding and supporting fellow members, including her role in establishing the Women in Leadership ISN. 
Coordinator of the Year Award
Sergeant Trevor Hanko received the Paul D. Boudreau Coordinator of the Year Award for his hard work and diligence towards the Crime Stoppers program over the past five years. 
Association of Black Law Enforcers President's Award for Community Service 
 The following Human Trafficking Unit members received the (A.B.L.E) President's Award for Community Service: Inspector Thai Truong, Detective Bernard Hurley, Detective Stephan Yan, Detective constable Ashley Smith, Detective Constable Michael Manhas, Detective Constable Konstantin Orshansky, Detective Constable Andrew Salmon and Detective Constable Paul Kontos. 
The Canada 150 Medal for Volunteer Service 
The following members were awarded the Canada 150 Medal for Volunteer Service for their dedication to the community: Detective Constable Melanie Moffatt for her commitment to Special Olympics Ontario, Sergeant John Loughry for his ongoing support of the Run For Southlake, Karen Richards for her work with Community Living and Gary Marston who donates his time as a Chef, preparing meals at Community Bread. 
Certificates of Appreciation
Constable Terry Mansholt and Constable Debora Wood received Certificates of Appreciation from East Gwillimbury Emergency and Community Safety Services for their continuing support of the community. 
York Support Services Community Award
York Regional Police received a Community Award from York Support Services for our long standing partnership, in the area of work for persons experiencing a mental health crisis who come in conflict with the law. 
2017 Police Services Board - Volunteer of the Year Award
Detective Peter Fleming received the Volunteer of the Year Award from the York Regional Police Services Board. 
Exceptional Service Award - Police Category 
Constable Imtiaz Manjra received an Exceptional Service Award at the York Region Appreciation Dinner and Awards hosted by the Al Nadwa Islamic Centre. 
Intercultural Dialogue Institute - 2017 Public Heroes Award
Sergeant Brad Weick received the 2017 Public Heroes Award.